Plant Tissue Culture Association (India)

(Regd. Office Pune)

Minutes of the 37th Annual Meeting of the PTCA (India) held at NBRI, Lucknow, on February 26, 2016, on the occasion of the National Symposium on "Plant Biotechnology for Crop Improvement"

The following members were present:

- 1. Prof. P.B. Kavi Kishor
- 3. Dr. Sarita Arya
- 5. Prof. Mohammad Anis
- 7. Dr. Ajay Kumar Mathur
- 9. Prof. Sudhir K. Sopory
- 11. Dr. Suchitra Banerjee
- 13. Prof. Abha Agnihotri
- 15. Dr. H. C. Chaturvedi
- 17. Dr. S.K. Nandi
- 19. Dr. Sandeep Das
- 21. Dr. Shashi Kiran Nivas
- 23. Prof. M.V. Rajam
- 25. Dr. K.B.R.S. Visarada
- 27. Prof. H.Y. Mohan Ram

- 2. Dr. I.D. Arya
- 4. Dr. Timir Baran Jha
- 6. Dr. Pratibha Misra
- 8. Fr. Dr. Vincent Braganza
- 10. Prof. Pramod Tandon
- 12. Prof. Paramjit Khurana
- 14. Prof. Harvinder Cheema
- 16. Prof. P.B. Kirti
- 18. Dr. S.R. Thengane
- 20. Dr. Anjan K. Banerjee
- 22. Dr. Smitha Hegde
- 24. Dr. Sharmila Chattopadhyay
- 26. Prof. J.P. Khurana

Prof. J.P. Khurana, Secretary, convened the meeting and welcomed members of PTCA(I) present. Prof. H.Y. Mohan Ram, one of founding members of PTCA (I), was requested to Chair the meeting and he graciously agreed. Chairman made his opening remarks, following which he read the condolence messages and highlighted the contributions of the PTCA(I) members, Dr. V. Jagannathan, Dr. A.F. Mascarenhas, Prof. S.K. Sen and Dr. Prashant Bhatt, who passed away recently. Thereafter agenda was taken up.

1. Confirmation of minutes

The minutes of the 36th Annual meeting held on January 30, 2015, at St. Aloysius College, Mangalore, were confirmed.

2. Reporting items

With the permission of the Chair, Secretary (PTCA-I) reported the following:

- i) Letters were issued to the new members elected last year during the 36th meeting of PTCA(I), i.e. to Prof. P. Venkatachalam, Dr. Shashi Kiran Nivas, Dr. Smitha Hegde and Dr. Sujatha Raman.
- ii) Information conveyed to Prof. Sumita Jha and Dr. I.D. Arya for the decision of the members that they have been selected for Dr. Gadgil Memorial and Prof.

- Street Memorial lecture award, respectively. Dr. Sumita Jha could not make it & will give it next year.
- iii) Letter received a few months ago from Prof. Uma Kant and Dr. I.D. Arya: Prof. H.C. Arya Memorial Medal Lecture awarded to Dr. H.C. Chaturvedi. Comunicated to the persons concerned (Dr. H.C. Chaturvedi and Dr. Pratibha Misra).

3. Election of new members

Secretary reported that there were 10 valid nominations. These include 5 new nominees (Prof. K.N. Tiwari, Prof. Rakhi Chaturvedi, Dr. Debasis Chakrabarty, Dr. P.C. Verma and Dr. Neeta Shrivastava), who made presentation in the current symposium and 5 whose nominations are still valid and carried forward from previous years; these include Dr. Laiq ur Rahman, Dr. Manju Modgil, Dr. Anjali Abhay Kulkarni, Dr. Adinpunya Mitra and Dr. Sumita Kachhwaha. Prof. M.V. Rajam was requested to serve as Returning Officer and he was assisted by a member of PTCA(I). The ballot paper was distributed to all the members present and they were briefed about the procedure to be adopted. It was made mandatory for all members to **vote for minimum five nominees**, otherwise ballot will be considered invalid. After the due process of voting and counting, the Returning officer presented the result to the Chair. The Chair then announced that as per rules five nominees have been elected as new members of the Association. They are: Prof. Rakhi Chaturvedi, Dr. Debasis Chakrabarty, Dr. Laiqur Rahman, Dr. Manju Modgil, and Dr. Adinpunya Mitra. Members voiced their consent for the same.

4. Budget presentation

Dr. S.R. Thengane, Treasurer, presented the statement of accounts and audit reports, duly signed by the CA. She also requested the members to pay the Life Membership fee (those who have not paid the balance of the enhanced membership). She also brought to the knowledge the objections raised by the CA. To sort out these matters, including the Trustees issue, she suggested that we need to consult a lawyer and it was agreed.

5. Award Lecture

Nominations were solicited from the Members present for the "Steward Memorial Lecture", the only lecture award due next year (in early 2017). The nominations received were considered and after due deliberations Prof. S.L. Kothari, from Jaipur, was selected for this award lecture.

6. Venue for the Next Meeting

Secretary of PTCA(I) informed that the a request has been received from Dr. Sharmila Chattopadhyay, CSIR-IICB, Kolkata, and Dr. Visarada from Directorate of Sorghum Research, Hyderabad. Members decided that the next meeting of the PTCA(I) would be held in early 2017 at CSIR-IICB, Kolkata.

7. Website and logo for PTCA(I)

Fr. Dr. Vincent Braganza presented the modified logos and also discussed about the launching of website. Members made some suggestions for modifications.

8. Election of the Treasurer

Prof. M.V. Rajam proposed the name of Dr. Anjan Banerjee, from IISER, Pune, and it was unanimously decided to elect him as Treasurer of PTCA(I), w.e.f. April 1, 2016. It will help in maintaining the Accounts at the Headquarter of the Association. He should take over the charge from Dr. S. Thengane. Members profusely thanked Dr. Thengane for successfully shouldering this responsibility for the past several years.

9. Election of the Secretary

Election of the Secretary was notified to the members and proposals invited well in advance. Although members expressed their support for the present Secretary to continue but Secretary himself thanked the members for their support and requested that the members should elect a new secretary since he has already served two terms. Prof. S.K. Sopory nominated Prof. Pramod Tandon and his name was unanimously approved by the members of PTCA(I). Prof. Pramod Tandon will take charge as Secretary w.e.f. April 1, 2016, for a 3-year term.

8. Any other item

- i) Secretary requested the members to update the addresses of some of the senior members whom they know personally.
- ii) A letter received from Prof. S.C. Maheshwari (dated February 23, 2016) on the issue related to change in the name of the association that will bring more focus on current research and conceptual advances in plant sciences was considered. Members decided to dwell on this issue and discuss in the next meeting.

While concluding the meeting, Chairman remembered the contributions made by the previous Directors of NBRI. Members expressed their gratitude and thanked Dr. Pratibha Misra and her colleagues at NBRI and other CSIR labs in Lucknow for successfully organizing the 37th PTCA(I) meeting and the National Symposium and making our stay at Lucknow comfortable. Members also thanked the Director of NBRI for his overall support in the organization of this event.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chairman.

Secretary (PTCA-India)

Titendra Khnurme